Register for the BCAT

The only autism specific behavioral technician certification accredited by the NCCA.

Board Certified Autism Technician

Certification as a Board Certified Autism Technician (BCAT) demonstrates autism-specific competency and a commitment to consumer safety by entry-level individuals who treat the deficits and behaviors associated with autism spectrum disorder using the principles and procedures of applied behavior analysis and under the supervision of a qualified health care professional (QHCP). A qualified health care professional is an individual who is qualified by education, training, and licensure (when applicable) who performs a professional service within his/her scope of practice and independently reports that professional service. QHCPs who are qualified to direct BCATs include Board Certified Autism Professionals (BCAP), Board Certified Behavior Analysts, licensed psychologists, or licensed and/or certified professionals with applied behavior analysis in their scope of practice acting within their competency.

What is Certification?
Professional certification is different than a training or educational program. Training programs offer a certificate of attendance when an individual completes the coursework, but they do not generally award a credential or require ongoing recertification. The BCAT certification program was developed using a nationally recognized process to define the roles and responsibilities of behavior technicians. Behavior technicians who meet the eligibility requirements and pass the exam are granted use of the BCAT credential.


  • Minimum of a high school diploma or equivalent
  • 40 Hours Training
  • 15 Hours Experience
  • Adhere to Code of Conduct
  • Pass ongoing background
  • Pass BCAT Exam

BCAT Candidate Handbook

BICC was established in 2013 to promote the highest standards of treatment for individuals with autism spectrum disorder through the development, implementation, coordination, and evaluation of all aspects of the certification and certification renewal processes.

BCAT Exam Content Outline

The BCAT exam is 175 multiple choice items. Candidates have 3 hours to complete the exam. Topics covered by the exam are listed below, followed by a detailed content outline.

Requesting an Accommodation

If you have a disability covered by the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), please complete this form and the Documentation of Disability-Related Needs Form.

Translate »